1. Hello Guest! Welcome to the Official ConsoleCrunch website. To help support our site, please disable Adblock and purchase a Premium Upgrade HERE! to get exclusive access to our hidden content.

    We hope that you enjoy your time with us! Thank you.

  2. Please DO NOT repost Console ID's, check if they are posted first!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Want to Advertise Here? Contact @Younis
  4. Visit our dev section, where you can get help with your code, view examples, and ask for help from those with experience. We are currently after more developers, so now's your time to shine!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Read Rules Before Posting Post Virus Scans with every program.
    Dismiss Notice

How to play PS2 games and add Codebreaker Codes [DEX]

Discussion in 'PlayStation 3 Tutorials' started by ZackGivesFrogs, Apr 20, 2015.

  1. ZackGivesFrogs

    ZackGivesFrogs Soldier 1st Class Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Hello guys!
    If you're looking how to play your favourite PS2 games with your PS3 DEX, and add in case Codebreaker codes in it, you're in the right place. It's very easy, so let's start :)

    N.B : I'm using Rebug 4.70 DEX for this tutorial.

    CONTENT YOU NEED!

    - A PS3 on DEX Firmware ( CEX firmwares support PS2 aswell, but here we are going to use the method for DEX )
    - WinRAR
    - ImgBurn or any ISO writer
    - Your PS2 ISO game
    - Codebreaker pack files Please Login or register to view links or Console ID's

    Ok, because we are on DEX, ps2 classics method won't work. It only works for CEX. But, Rebug has Cobra Mode, means we can play ISO games.
    So, let's boot Rebug Toolbox first, and let's go here :

    [​IMG]

    Put Toggle COBRA Mode : Enabled
    Toggle PS2 Emulator : COBRA
    Toggle webMAN : Enabled

    First, we need to create a PS2 Memory Card. You can do it from XMB, on " Utility save data PS2 ". After created, you have to assign it to " Slot 1 ".

    After this, we have to restart ps3, so just reboot it.
    Let's move on PC. We need the ISO of our game so :
    a) If you have a disc game, we can extract the ISO from it. If you follow this, go to a2.
    b) Just search the ISO of your game in internet and download it.

    a2) Ok, we need to extract the ISO from our disc. Just open ImgBurn, and click " Create image file from Disc "

    Put your disc, then select the Source where your disc is placed. You can also edit the destination of the ISO. After that's let's boot it by clicking on the disc icon.
    Then wait till it finishes. Now we should have the ISO placed in the destination we have chosen.

    Now, if you want simply play your game, place the ISO in " dev_hdd0/PS2ISO " on your PS3 with a File Manager, or Filezilla. Then you can mount your game from mmCM or webMAN, and play it.
    If you get a no-signal in your TV, check the settings on Rebug Toolbox, and make sure that PS2 Emulator is set to COBRA.
    If you still have no-signal, you might have to change the resolution. in XMB, go on " Settings ", then " Display settings " and change your video resolution from 1080i/1080p to 720p. Then try again.


    HOW TO ADD CODEBREAKER FILES IN OUR GAME

    With Codebreaker, you can " mod " the game. You will be able to use various codes for your game.
    Let's right click in our ISO, and choose " Extract to (namefile) " and wait till it finishes.
    Now enter on the main directory of the game : here we have to place three files, that you can get from the Codebreaker pack. The files are :

    BOOT.ELF
    CODEBREAKER V10.ELF
    SYSTEM.CNF


    For SYSTEM.CNF, you will be asked if you wanna replace the file, select yes. Now, rename the " CODEBREAKER V10.ELF " to simply " CODEBREAKER.ELF ".
    Now we have to make our custom ISO. Open ImgBurn, and select " Create image file from files/folders "

    Now, click on " Browse for a folder... " . It's an icon of a folder. Then select the main folder of your game ( the folder where ALL FILES are placed ).
    Select the destination, click on build.

    Now you should get this message :

    [​IMG]

    Click YES.
    Then you should get another window, where you will be asked to put a name for the volume label. Put no names in ISO9660 and UDF, so like this :

    [​IMG]

    Click YES, then OK. Just wait.

    When it finished, you always have to put the ISO in dev_hdd0/PS2ISO, mount it and boot it.

    The game now will not boot as normally, it will bring you in a grey window instead. In upper right you should see
    " LaunchELF v4.42b ".
    Your controller will turn off. Plug it with a cable and turn it back on. Then press CIRCLE for enter FileBrowser.
    Move to cdfs :/ and press CIRCLE. Move to CODEBREA.ELF and press CIRCLE.
    Codebreaker program now will load. After it loaded, go on " Select Cheats " and press X. Look for your game, when you are on it, press D-PAD right and enable the codes you want. Then press start. You will be again in the main menu, now press Start Game. It will ask you to insert the disc, press OK and LaunchELF will load again.
    Go again in cdfs :/ and press CIRCLE in " SLUS_XXX.XX ".
    Your game should boot and you will have the codes enabled!!

    N.B = Maybe some games will not work with CODEBREAKER files added on it. It will give you " no signal " as a result.

    If requested, I'll make a video tutorial. Enjoy!
     
  2. oonemancrew

    oonemancrew Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    ill try this thanks
     
  3. ZackGivesFrogs

    ZackGivesFrogs Soldier 1st Class Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Let me know.
     
  4. sissi92

    sissi92 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Hey when i use "ImgBurn" why the download bar hangs at 91% ?
     
  5. sissi92

    sissi92 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    13
    and im on cex this methode work on cex ?
     
  6. ZackGivesFrogs

    ZackGivesFrogs Soldier 1st Class Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    103
    About the fact that the bar stop I don't know what to say, seems a program issue. Try to reboot PC, other than this I don't know.
    And this method will work on CEX only if your CEX firmware has COBRA.
     
  7. sissi92

    sissi92 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Yes thanks is work now and yes im on cex rebug my official cfw is 4.46 dex rebug im convert to cex habib 4.66 ;)
     
  8. ZackGivesFrogs

    ZackGivesFrogs Soldier 1st Class Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Glad to hear that you solved.
    Btw there is a way for play PS2 games on a CEX firmware NON COBRA, but you have to convert the PS2 game in a PS2 classics, and the method isn't written here. But if you are going to CEX COBRA, you can follow this tutorial with no problems :)
     
    sissi92 likes this.
  9. sissi92

    sissi92 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    13
    i place the iso game (modified) on > PS2ISO :)
     
  10. ZackGivesFrogs

    ZackGivesFrogs Soldier 1st Class Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Yeah that's correct :)
     
  11. sissi92

    sissi92 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    13
    It's worked !! thanks a lot man :heart: ;)
     
    ZackGivesFrogs likes this.
  12. sissi92

    sissi92 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    13
    the cheat dont work :( im a french i add code and he dont work
     
  13. Irving

    Irving ConsoleCrunch Addict Community Veteran Determined Poster Active Member Console ID Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,642
    Likes Received:
    1,390
    Trophy Points:
    300
    Imgoing to try this.
     
  14. Vampire

    Vampire Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    13

    been athis for hours... the shit will not stop giving me no signal. I turned my display settings to standard and am using component cables and still "no signal"i used the disc in multiman and created the ISO and I have all other settings as they are supposed to be. WTF is the problem here?????????????????????????????????????????????????
     
  15. urp diewalker

    urp diewalker Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    63





    how to update cheats of cb
     
  16. lxlKingzOFAllModzlxl

    lxlKingzOFAllModzlxl Community Veteran Retired Staff Community Veteran Determined Poster Active Member Console ID Poster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    1,161
    Trophy Points:
    398
    the world will never know. naw google it my friend ;)
     
Loading...

Share This Page

Top