1. Hello Guest! Welcome to the Official ConsoleCrunch website. To help support our site, please disable Adblock and purchase a Premium Upgrade HERE! to get exclusive access to our hidden content.

    We hope that you enjoy your time with us! Thank you.

  2. Please DO NOT repost Console ID's, check if they are posted first!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Want to Advertise Here? Contact @Younis
  4. Visit our dev section, where you can get help with your code, view examples, and ask for help from those with experience. We are currently after more developers, so now's your time to shine!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Read Rules Before Posting Post Virus Scans with every program.
    Dismiss Notice

Let's Talk Laptops

Discussion in 'PC Help' started by WOLF_MoDz--, Apr 25, 2016.

  1. WOLF_MoDz--

    WOLF_MoDz-- Active Poster Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Hey Crunchers, need some advice. It's been a while since I've been into the modding thing, my PS3 is getting re-ball work done and will be ready soon. I currently have a huge POS desktop that's older than my ps2, so it's time to upgrade.
    I own a MacBook Pro, but of course the tools used to mod won't run on it. I don't want to piss around with dual booting OS, so I will just buy a Windows laptop. Here's where I need the advice, all new machines come with either 8.1 or Windows 10. My old PC is (barely) running windows 7, so I'm a little worried if there will be compatibility issues with any of the current tools/menus/RTM's etc. Here's where you experienced and knowledgeable folks come in!
    What do you recommend for the laptop purchase? I plan to use it exclusively with the PS3 and modding, nothing else. I would like to hear what you guys are using and your thoughts on the performance and reliability of your laptop.
     
  2. ZionHD

    ZionHD Leader Retired Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    211
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Well the tools should work on every Windows OS unless it was coded using a very low version of .NET Framework.

    The tools are mostly coded in C# so all you need is the .NET Framework version the tool was created with.
     
    WOLF_MoDz-- likes this.
  3. WOLF_MoDz--

    WOLF_MoDz-- Active Poster Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Thanks for your reply, I appreciate it.
     
  4. WOLF_MoDz--

    WOLF_MoDz-- Active Poster Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Do these tools run on Windows 8.1? They WILL NOT run on Windows RT
     
  5. ZionHD

    ZionHD Leader Retired Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    211
    Trophy Points:
    53
    From my experience yes they worked on Windows 8.1.
     
    WOLF_MoDz-- likes this.
  6. WOLF_MoDz--

    WOLF_MoDz-- Active Poster Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Right on, thanks for your help bro.
     
  7. Calyx

    Calyx Avid Poster Determined Poster Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    252
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Just use a virtual machine on osx. Most of the time, there's nothing more you need.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

Top